HIMYM

TV LOOKOUT

It’s been a long time since the last time I watched How I Met Your Mother continuously. I used to watch it while having meals in my dorm room back in bachelor’s. I was so engrossed in it. It was one of the shows that accompanied me going through college. Every time I had a hard or leisure time, I watched the show. Over and over again. It felt very relatable for me, for some reason. I was pretty emotional and dramatic back then. It helped that my then love interest liked to watch the series, too. He and I talked about the show right away after the new episode came out. It was lovely. Until one time I identified myself as Ted and him as Robin. I started to feel a little uncomfortable watching the show after that. The show reminded me of how such a fool I was. I watched it less since then. Quite a while later, another man came into my life and things ended pretty abruptly between us. He used a How I Met Your Mother reference by calling me Robin Scherbatsky. I think that was when I stopped watching the show altogether. Too many unpleasant memories.

I was in Prague about two weeks ago. I visited A, a best friend from college. When I was in her flat, we watched How I Met Your Mother together very often. I still knew all the stories and scenes by heart. And I thought, you know, watching the show didn’t hurt as much anymore. It was nice and nostalgic. Made you think of those more innocent, cheerful days. So now I’ve been watching the show again when I eat my meal in my flat in Milan. It’s nice.

Leave a Reply

